top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Tarte Double Duty Beauty Lip Sculptor

 

Tarte's "The Lip Sculptor" is a double ended lipstick and lip gloss in one and is part of the Double Duty Beauty collection exclusive to Ulta. This 2-in-1 travel friendly lip product retails for $24 at Ulta and Tarte's website. The product claims to have a longwearing formula, opaque lipstick with a satin matte finish and a pigmented gloss. The sculptor is formulated with coconut oil (which helps with moisturizing the lips), maracuja oil (which is supposed to create firmer and smoother skin as well as provide hydration), and vitamin E (which is a natural preservative).

Along with the product being travel friendly, the formula is hydrating, light-weight, and non-sticky. The duo also provides a nice shine and has a sweet vanilla scent. There are 8 shades to choose from ranging from nude to deep berry. There is not a ton of selection but the shades available are nice for someone who likes berry shades ranging from a rose to an almost bordeaux color.

The shades that I chose to buy are shades I would typically pick which is a nice pinky nude, rose, and raspberry shade. What I like personally about the product is that it is convenient with a lipstick and gloss at either end. What I did not like is that the gloss does not perfectly match the lipstick, I do not know if it is not supposed to or what but I would have liked it to. Mostly because I could have a choice of choosing to wear just the lipstick or just the gloss and still have the same shade.

As someone who never really got into the matte lip craze, I liked how Tarte came out with a lip product that wasn't a matte liquid lipstick. I cannot wait for more companies to come out with more opaque glosses once the matte trend is over. I love the concept of a 2-in-1 product as it is efficient. The formula is firm feeling if that makes sense, as in it doesn't feel like it's going to slide off anytime soon. It has pretty good staying power for a non-drying non-matte finish especially if you were to wear a lip liner underneath.

The first shade I wanted to pick up was VIP which is described as a cool nude but on me (for shade reference I am a NC30 - NC35 in Mac or in between 105 & 106 in the L'Oreal infallible matte foundation) it is kinda like a pink/beige nude that does not look like "concealer lips". The second shade is a classic color that I am loving as of the last year which is a rose color. Sass is described as a mauve but I would say it is definitely a slightly deeper rose shade. Lastly, the third shade I picked up is Renegade which is described as a berry rose. This shade is a bolder and slightly brighter version of Sass. I love raspberry shades like Renegade.

I bought these three shades in an Ulta 21 Days of Beauty Sale for half off so if you can wait for sale I would to get these duos for a good deal but if you can't these would be a good lip product to try. I would recommend all of these shades as they are suitable for a fair amount of skin tones. I hope y'all can get your hands on these too!!

bottom of page